COMFORT-СLASS HOUSING MARKET

Comfort-class housing is the key mass real estate segment in Old Moscow. Despite this, its new housing supply is currently on the decline driven down by fast-paced market shrinkage. New properties coming to the market are just enough to cover the demand and not sufficient to boost the supply. The demand for comfort-class flats leapfrogged in 2020 taking advantage of lower mortgage rates and the subsidised mortgage programme available to borrowers. The demand was at its highest in 2H 2020, and the market saw new comfort-class housing supply in the same period go up 87% year-on-year.

Supply and demand in Moscow’s market of new comfort-class housing, thousand sq m
Sources: newly built housing database, Federal Service for State Registration, Cadastre and Cartography (Rosreestr), Company’s proprietary databases

The share of sales of new comfort-class housing funded by mortgage loans increased by 20 pp, from 49% in 2018 to 69% in Q1 2021. This growth was driven primarily by lower mortgage rates and availability of the government-subsidised mortgage programme launched in 2020. According to INTECO estimates, about 94% of all mortgage transactions in the comfort-class segment relied on this government programme. In 2020 alone, their share in the sales of comfort-class housing increased by 10 pp.

Share of mortgage transactions in sales of new comfort-class housing, %
Sources: newly built housing database, Rosreestr, Company’s proprietary databases

A surge in demand in 2020 triggered a rapid increase in the price per sq m. Back in 2016 to 2019, prices rose marginally from RUB 150 thousand to RUB 170 thousand per sq m. However, in 2020 and early 2021, a rally began, with sales prices adding 22% throughout 2020 alone.

According to the Company’s forecasts, in Q2 2021, the price growth will continue driven by the discontinuation of the subsidised mortgage programme and feverish demand from buyers rushing to close transactions. Through the remainder of the year, the price growth will slow down, with expected gains of around 5–7% in Q3 and Q4 2021. Sales will also slow down, but will be supported by the subsidies provided by developers.

Average selling price per sq m of new comfort-class housing in Moscow, RUB thousand
Sources: newly built housing database, Rosreestr, Company’s proprietary databases

In terms of the demand structure, properties with an area of up to 50 sq m account for 50% of all demand, with another third attributable to those of 50–70 sq m. This is generally in line with the supply mix. The average area of sold properties tends to decrease without jeopardising functionality thanks to more ergonomic layouts.

When subsidised mortgage loans were available, buyers were mostly looking for small-sized flats (less than 30 sq m and 30–40 sq m). They were also seen as the most attractive investment target offering the best liquidity. Over a half of those looking for smaller properties chose to buy apartments.

Comfort-class housing with an integrated fit-out also enjoyed a strong demand, with the share of sold fitted-out properties increasing from 48% in Q1 2018 to 56% in Q1 2021.

Moscow’s market of new comfort-class housing is undergoing consolidation. In early 2021, the top 10 players accounted for over 65% of total sales, up from 60% back in 2018. In the medium term, the consolidation may intensify with small developers hardly able to enter the market and major players potentially offering partnership projects to landowners.

Рынок жилой недвижимости комфорт-класса

Жилье комфорт-класса — самый массовый сегмент недвижимости в старых границах Москвы. Тем не менее, в данный момент новое предложение в этом сегменте снижается, поскольку с рынка активно уходит объем. Новый объем только покрывает спрос и недостаточен для увеличения предложения. Снижение ипотечных ставок и программы льготной ипотеки в 2020 г. привели к взрывному росту спроса на квартиры в данном сегменте. Пик спроса пришелся на II полугодие 2020 г. Также во II полугодии на рынок вышел новый объем квартир, на 87% превышающий показатели аналогичного периода 2019 г.

Спрос и предложение на рынке новостроек комфорт-класса Москвы (тыс. кв. м)
Источники: база новостроек, Росреестр, собственные базы данных Компании

Доля ипотеки в структуре продаж новой недвижимости комфорт-класса с 2018 г. выросла на 20 п.п., с 49% в 2018 г. до 69% в I квартале 2021 г. Основное влияние на это оказали снижение ипотечных процентных ставок и программа льготной ипотеки с господдержкой, запущенная в 2020 г. По оценке «ИНТЕКО», около 94% от всех ипотечных сделок в этом сегменте прошли с использованием государственной программы. За один только 2020 г. их доля в продажах жилой недвижимости комфорт-класса увеличилась на 10 п.п.

Доля сделок с ипотекой в продажах новой жилой недвижимости комфорт-класса (%)
Источники: база новостроек, Росреестр, собственные базы данных Компании

Скачок спроса в 2020 г. стимулировал быстрый рост цены квадратного метра. Если в 2016—2019 гг. цены в сегменте росли незначительно от 150 до 170 тыс. руб. за 1 кв. м, — то в 2020 г. и начале 2021 г. начался резкий подъем. За 2020 г. цена реализации выросла на 22%.

По прогнозам Компании, во II квартале 2021 г. рост цен сохранится в связи с отменой льготной ипотеки и ажиотажным спросом со стороны покупателей, спешащих завершить сделки. До конца 2021 г. рост цен будет замедляться. Ожидаемый рост за III и IV кварталы 2021 г. составит около 5—7%. При этом темпы реализации снизятся, но будут поддерживаться субсидиями со стороны девелоперов.

Средняя цена реализации квадратного метра новой жилой недвижимости комфорт-класса в Москве (тыс. руб.)
Источники: база новостроек, Росреестр, собственные базы данных Компании

Что касается структуры спроса, то 50% приходится на лоты площадью до 50 кв. м. Еще треть занимают лоты в диапазоне 50—70 кв. м. Этим значениям примерно соответствует и структура предложения. Средняя площадь реализованных лотов имеет тенденцию к уменьшению без потери функциональности за счет более эргономичных планировок.

В период действия льготной ипотеки на рынке были наиболее востребованы были квартиры малой площади (менее 30 кв. м и 30—40 кв. м). Они же были самыми ликвидными и привлекательными как инвестиционные вложения. При этом более половины спроса в этих категориях приходится на апартаменты.

Следует отметить востребованность жилья комфорт-класса с готовой отделкой. Спрос на такие квартиры вырос с 48% реализованных площадей в I квартале 2018 г. до 56% в I квартале 2021 г.

Рынок новостроек комфорт-класса Москвы находится в процессе консолидации. На топ-10 компаний в начале 2021 г. приходилось более 65% продаж, тогда как за аналогичный период 2018 г. эта доля составляла около 60%. В среднесрочной перспективе консолидация рынка может усилиться, поскольку выход на него мелких застройщиков затруднен, а крупные застройщики могут предлагать партнерские проекты собственникам земельных участков.